Snapshot: How I Ate and Exercised Today Oct. 22 (Wed.)

WIAW 7 morning stretch

Good Morning! Today was literally  a run, eat, sleep, repeat type of day. I woke up at 5:30 am to the seemingly ceaseless sound of rain falling. It was still pitch black outside, which didn’t make waking up any more inviting! But I rolled out of bed anyway and went for an easy 4 mile run at an 8 min./mi. pace. I nixed showering (I didn’t sweat, but I got rained on, and I had no time) and changed into whatever was warm and comfortable. I spent the next 45 minutes stretching, eating peaches and watching YouTube videos in the semi-darkness until I had to catch the bus at 7:45 am for my 8:15 am Epidemiology class. I have a break between classes from 10 am- 10:15 am when I also ate 1 large Honeycrisp apple and 1 tiny sweet Tango apple.

WIAW 8 peachesBreakfast: FRUIT!

  • 3 peaches (610g) = 238 calories
  • 1 large + 1 small apple (322g) = 167 calories

Total: 405 cal.

I also brewed myself plenty of coffee to take with me! One thing I have learned as a student is to never buy coffee or fruit (or really any food) on campus! Before, I could easily have spent $5 on coffee and an apple or banana (of which the quality is always suspect) and that adds up over the week. It’s not hard to slice apples at home to take with you, and bring your own coffee in a thermos. It saves me money and I help the environment!

I’m done with classes by 11:30 am, so I caught the bus home and made it back by noon, just in time for lunch! My greedy glucose- glugging brain uses up a lot of my fuel (20% of the average person’s calories are burned by the brain) and I was pretty hungry. I was also really tired. I haven’t been able to sleep well lately, I’ve been going to bed by 10 pm at the latest but I’ve been tossing until midnight or later 😦 So I felt like a nap after lunch would be necessary.

WIAW 8 lunch

Lunch: VEGGIES! POTATOES & SOUP!

  • Baby carrots (not pictured) (200g) = 70 calories
  • Snap peas (85g) = 40 cal.
  • 1 medium zucchini = 33 cal.
  • 1 cup vegan butternut squash soup = 90 calories
  • Freeze dried corn (24g) = 85 cal.
  • Steamed Japanese sweet potatoes (322g) =  290 calories

Total: 608 calories

And I was right! After a warming and filling lunch I attempted to do some homework for an hour, but I was ready to sleep. I had to run at least another 5 miles later that evening, and I would never make it the way I was feeling. My eyes were itchy and my brain was tingly and foggy. My high carb potato- coma and the gloomy rain all convinced me to go to bed. I napped from 2:30pm to 5pm and woke up feeling much better. It was still drizzling rain and getting dark so I donned my brightest rain jacket and laced up my running shoes again.

WIAW and exercise 8I ended up running 1.3 miles to my coach’s running store, then ran 4.3 miles at an easy easy pace with my coach, and then ran 1.3 miles back home for a total of 10.9 miles for the day…but they were all easy miles. Tomorrow morning at 6:30 am my track buddy, Em and I have the first of many early morning hard tempo workouts and so I was happy taking it easy.

By the time I got home, it was dark, I was cold and definitely hungry! I foam rolled and stretched again, and bundled up for the night. I steamed some more potatoes and ate them with 2 large heads of fresh Romaine lettuce!

Dinner: POTATOES!

  • Steamed Japanese sweet potatoes (764g) = 687 cal.
  • 2.5 large heads Romaine lettuce = 266 cal.

Total: 953 calories

Macro nutrient Breakdown:  

Total calories: 1968

Fat: 12.1g (5.2% total calories)

Protein: 57.5g (8% total cal.) Where do vegans get their protein 🙂

Carbohydrates: 446g (86.8% total calories)

That was my day! Lots of running and sleeping, school and food. I was not exaggerating about the amount of rainfall!

record-rain-2

Source: KOIN 6 blog, “Rainfall breaks records in Portland, Vancouver” Oct. 22, 2014.

6 thoughts on “Snapshot: How I Ate and Exercised Today Oct. 22 (Wed.)

  1. You’ve inspired me to start logging my food again! My eating schedule has been getting really out of hand! I like the breakdown you did! :] I was jokingly known as the “bag lady” on campus (as my friends liked to put it) because I always brought a huge bag of food with me to last me throughout the day! 😛

    Like

    • Glad I could help! It’s better to be known as the bag lady than to be broke and compromising on your food choices! I use cronometer.com to log all my food, it’s free and it does all the nutritional stats/breakdown for me! Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

