Don’t get a flu shot! You’re being infected with MUCH more than the virus…

It’s flu season, time to get an annual flu shot! WAIT! Ask yourself: do you really know what’s in the vaccine? Why do you feel compelled to get a flu shot? Did you know there’s more than one type of flu vaccine available?  Here’s what you need to know before you (don’t!) go.

original flu shotDid you know that most flu vaccines are NOT vegan? They frequently contain egg proteins or gelatin. (FYI, check your vitamin supplements for dairy-derived lactose and whey!)

You might leave the pharmacy after receiving a flu shot feeling like you’ve done something good for your health but in reality, you were injected with poison! Here are just a few questionable substances:

  • Formaldehyde
  • MSG (monosodium glutamate)
  • Thimerosol
  • Hydrocortisone

I am not a doctor, but I am receiving my Bachelor’s of Science in Community Health Studies: Education, in December (provided I don’t fail my final 3 classes this term)!

Every flu season, advertising propaganda, “health” news, and peer pressure mount to persuade millions of U.S. citizens to get the flu vaccine. All that the public really know is what they hear or read in popular media. They are constantly bombarded with so much information (much of it unreliable misinformation) that it becomes easier to take a passive role in their health. They let go of the wheel and pray to be taken care of. Currently, they are being steered toward the nearest Wallgreens (or whatever) for their annual flu shot. They are praying that the govt. is looking out for their health and well being above all else.

I’m sorry to have to say this, but the govt. consistently puts the peoples’ welfare low on the list of priorities. I’m pretty sure profitability ranks #1 (just my opinion here). I’ve touched on this subject before in regards to the USDA, food regulation systems, quality control, the meat and dairy industry, medical research, pharmaceuticals, etc. I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised that vaccinations should be any different.

So, what is currently recommended?*

The Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommends that all persons aged ≥6 months without contraindications receive annual vaccinations for protection against seasonal influenza. A number of different seasonal influenza vaccine formulations are available, some of which are licensed for specific age groups or are more appropriate than others for persons with certain medical conditions.

Current flu vaccine options available for 2014-2015:*

flu vaccine table of ingredients

This handy table from one of my favorite vegan YouTuber’s, ChrisGoneRaw. Check out his video: “What is in the flu vaccine, and its side effects?” Published Oct. 12, 2014. The full list of vaccines and ingredients from the CDC is available as my second source cited! (See: **)

The full list of vaccines available as well as doses and ingredients and common vs. trade names are available for public viewing on the CDC’s website. I have included valuable links below. From the list available, one of my favorite YouTubers to watch, ChrisGoneRaw, made a series of videos addressing why the flu vaccine is ineffective, the ingredients and side effects (virtually unknown to the public), and why the government spends so much time and energy promoting annual flue vaccines. *Big Pharma*cough*cough*

The table above is from ChrisGoneRaw’s video and lists the common forms of the flu vaccine administered. He placed handy green check marks next to the vaccines that are not vegan and underlined in red the ingredients that are known to be poisonous to the body!

I was astounded! Even though I’ve regarded the regulation of food products with deep mistrust and disgust, I had never given much thought to the regulation of vaccinations! This is due to the fact that the last time I was vaccinated for anything was in Jan./Feb. 2013, when I was preparing to go to India. Like many people, I had assumed that the ingredients were simple: dead virus “thingys” that caused my immune system to react to the foreign invader and create antibodies to combat them, so that in the future if I were ever to really get infected my immune system would already have a built-in, programmed response. Never had I considered what else was in that syringe plunger…it’s worse than what’s in your food, if you can even fathom how that’s possible. At least they don’t allow hydrocortisone and formaldehyde in your food! (Well, actually…)

So, what should you do?

Personally, I’ve never gotten a flu shot and I haven’t had the flu in at least 5 years. I’ve spent the last year working in elementary and pre-schools as a teacher…so I had plenty of opportunity to get sick but I’ve never even had a sniffle (knock on wood). I think the flu vaccine is analogous to the anti-bacterial craze of a couple of years ago. We now know that overuse of anti-bacterial substances results in “superbugs”. I think that the overuse of flu vaccines is similar, and necessary for most healthy people. Unless your immune system is severely compromised due to some other illness or condition, let your immune system do it’s job.

If you’re healthy and you get sick, you’ll fight it off. So now the question becomes: How are you building your body up to be the healthiest version of yourself?

Sources:

*Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR), Prevention and Control of Seasonal Influenza with Vaccines: Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) — United States, 2014–15 Influenza Season“, updated: Aug. 15, 2014.

**Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Vaccine Excipient & Media Summary – Excipients Included in U.S. Vaccines, by Vaccine“, updated: Sept. 2013.

Leave a Reply

