What I Ate Wed. +Potato Power!

sweet potatoes
Sweet potatoes should be the go-to food for runners! They are an amazing source of potassium, move over bananas! An average medium sweet potato (5″ long, 2″ in diameter) contains 542mg of potassium. An average medium banana contains 422mg.

In addition, sweet potatoes provide iron, complex carbs, and fiber! They are super low fat and filling! Perfect for those on a high carb diet (like me) or wishing to lose weight and feel full (like many). They are also amazingly easy to digest despite all their fiber-y goodness which won’t leave you bloated or gassy.

Poor potatoes are always shown in a negative light, thanks to common health media. But don’t believe the myths! The ill-health effects attributed to potatoes actually comes from the context that potatoes are typically found in the standard American diet. When not drenched in oil, fried, or heavily salted, potatoes are a nutritional powerhouse. There is actually a guy who went on a “potato-only diet” for 60 days (and he lived)! In fact, he was healthier after his diet than when he started!

20potatoesaday

 What I Ate Wednesday:

Again, today was an easy day. I started off with a 4 mile run and then hydrated with a liter of water as I stretched.

Breakfast:WIAW 3 breakfast

  • 2 med./large yellow nectarines
  • 1 medium/large yellow peach

Afterward, I was quick and speedy on my bike commute fueled by fructose! 30 minutes of cycling 🙂

Snack:

  • 1 gigantic apple (280g)!!!

WIAW snack 3

 

 

I had another liter of water during the morning as well as a 16oz. black coffee. I worked at a computer for 3 hours at the non-profit I am interning at (which I love!) then I hopped on my bike and cycled 20 minutes to Portland State University campus to eat my lunch and relax before work…

Lunch:

Salad:WIAW 3 lunch

  • several large handfuls spinach
  • 1 cup sugar snap peas
  • 1 large peeled carrot
  • 6 yellow cherry tomatoes
  • 1/4 English cucumber
  • 1/2 cup freeze dried corn (equivalent to 1 ear fresh corn)

Main:

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 2 med. steamed sweet potatoes (300g)

I work at a school on top of a HUGE hill…I am not biking up that, so I take the bus and I ride my bike home instead 🙂

Snack:

  • 300g (about 3 cups chopped) raw cauliflower

Had another liter or two of water at work, then took the bus back down to my bike and cycled home 25 minutes. It was a long day and I am definitely ready to relax and get some rest before tomorrow morning’s track workout.

Dinner:

  • 2 heads Romaine lettuce
  • TONS of steamed sweet potatoes (774g)!!!

life of a lamb quote

 Calories & Macro nutrient breakdown:

WIAW 3 dinner

 

Total calories: 1931

  • Fat: 11.2g (4.9% of total calories)
  • Carbs: 435.7g (86.2% of total cals.)
  • Protein: 62.2g (8.9% of total cals.) Where do I get my protein? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

