What I Ate Wednesday: 09/03/2014

WIAW 2 quote
My typical day of eating actually starts the night before. The key to success on a healthy diet is preparation. Plan ahead! Because I eat the same types of foods during the week when I am busy with my internship, job and running, I find it easier to make 2 or 3 salads ahead of time to grab every morning when I pack for the day. This is also helpful in cutting down on my prep time.

This also ensures that I don’t stray from my diet because I have no excuses, the food is prepared already and if I don’t eat it within the next several days it will go bad (one of my biggest pet peeves is wasting food). Another benefit is that it becomes easier to see when I need to go grocery shopping because I run out of everything at the same time. So instead of having to make a trip every day for one or two things, I condense my shopping to the days that I need to do some food prep.

Breakfast!

WIAW 2 breakfast

 

Wednesdays are my easy recovery run days, sandwiched between my tempo run Tuesdays and track Thursdays. So I jogged an easy 4 miles and fueled for the day with:

  • 2 large peaches (480g)
  • 1 large plucot (180g)

This may not seem like a whole lot, but immediately afterward I need to hop on my bike and commute 30 minutes to my internship…I would rather not do that on a full stomach…

I love starting my day with some light fruit in the morning, it digests really easy on an empty stomach and gets some sugar to my cells as well as providing daily vitamins! No need to take a multi-vitamin in the morning, though I did take my B12 (which is not just a vegan problem! Unless you like eating dirt, you probably aren’t getting enough B12…unless you eat a lot of fortified foods).

Mid-Morning Snack!

My stomach started growling around 11:30am, I wasn’t planning on eating my lunch until 1. No way was I going to last that long! So I munched on a gigantic Envy apple (320g=3/4 lb. of goodness). Literally, a lady commented that the apple was almost as big as I was 🙂WIAW 2 snack

Lunch!

I had one of the salads that I prepped (pictured above) with freeze-dried corn and steamed sweet potatoes (not pictured):

Salad:

Fistfuls of spinach
1 serving (85g) snap peas
1 large carrot
1/4 English cucumber

Side:

1 medium zucchini
2 small steamed Japanese sweet potatoes (308g)

Before lunch I biked from my internship to Portland State University campus (25 min.) to enjoy my lunch in  a park and soak up the last rays of summer before I caught a bus (I’m not biking up a ridiculous hill!) to my job as an after school care program teacher.

Dinner!

Yummy! My favorite meal of the day, not to mention I can finally relax for the day!I rode the bus halfway home to PSU campus, where I picked up my bike and cycled home 25 minutes, up a big hill! When I got home I was pretty ravenous!

WIAW 2 dinner
Appetizer:
300g raw cauliflower

Main course:
1.5 large heads Romaine lettuce
774g steamed sweet potatoes (1.7 pounds!)

Totals:

Calories: 1894

Carbohydrates: 431.2g (87.1%)

Fat: 10.1g (4.5%)

Protein: 57.3g (8.4%)

Cronometer.com

Cronometer.com

Leave a Reply

