What I Ate That Wednesday: 08/27/14

Today was a little atypical for me. For starters, today happened to be a recovery run day, so I went for an easy 4 miler to recover from yesterday’s hard tempo and prepare for tomorrow’s track session. And secondly, I spent all day at my internship sitting around! It’s my first experience having a “typical” desk job. My previous job at the preschool and my old job that starts again next week is at an after-school care program, working with kids requires a lot of physical activity! But I am enjoying this week-long break I have, it’s like a preview at what being a “typical” adult might be like after I graduate and get a full-time job. Regardless, I still bike a lot to get to my internship! So here’s what I eat for all day energy on a whole food vegan diet:

Breakfast After My Quick (30 min) Run: Fruit!!!

breakfast WIAW 1

 

  • 150g (~ 1 cup) blueberries
  • 2 small black plums
  • 1 large nectarine
  • B12 supplement *

Bike commute: 30 minutes to my internship…..hilly ride 😦 But it makes me stronger!!

Mid-morning Snack: Fruitsnack WIAW 1

  • 1 gigantic red Envy apple (300g, it was HUGE!)

Lunch: Salad + Steamed Sweet Potato

Salad:lunch WIAW 1

  • 3 packed cups chopped baby spinach
  • 1 large peeled, chopped carrot
  • 1 cup baby sugar snap peas
  • 1/4 English cucumber
  • 6 yellow grape tomatoes
  • 30g freeze-dried yellow corn kernals (~1 large, fresh ear corn)
  • 1 medium sliced zucchini

300g (1 fairly large) steamed sweet potato, peeled

Bike commute: 30 minutes home, still hilly 😦 No breaks either way!

Dinner: Veggies!!

  • 300g raw cauliflower
  • 1.5 head Romaine lettuce leaves
  • 736g steamed sweet potatoes (1.6 lbs!)
dinner WIAW 1

I use 2 seasonings on my potatoes, one is salt free (I use a lot) the other has salt, and I use sparingly because a little salt is good for you!

Water consumed: 3.5 liters

Total Calories & Nutrients Consumed: cronometer.com

The whole point of “What  I Eat” type-posts are to demonstrate how I eat on a daily basis. This is how I fuel my body to run far, run fast, and feel good on a daily basis. I stick to a high-carb, low-fat McDougall style diet. The China Study, The Starch Solution, and Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease are all great sources of information for why a diet made up of predominantly fresh, whole carbs and 10% or less of fat is the healthiest diet on the planet.

Yes 🙂 I’m a little weird…I’m that girl who always eats salad, but as long as I continue to feel healthy and continue to  run hard and recover on this diet, I’m going to continue with it. Although I urge everyone to give this diet a try, I recognize that we are all different, there is no ‘one-size-fits-all’ cure, and so I just want to demonstrate one example of what you could do…

I hope this inspires you! Eat clean, go vegan, be happy ❤ Peace!

cronometer nutrients WIAW 1

* I supplement B12 and I definitely got my Vitamin D from the summer sun today!

cronometer WIAW 08.27

Leave a Reply

