Track Thursday: 08/21/14 Thoughts!

Goals Recap:

  1. Meet at least the “B” standard qualifying time (2:43:00) for the women’s Olympic Marathon Trials held in Feb. 2016 (must meet time on a certified course at least 30 days before trials date).
    1. Portland Marathon in 1 1/2 months. I want to run between a 6:20- 6:25 pace per mile. This would equal a finish of 2:46:03- 2:48:14. This would be an improvement of at least 10 minutes from my Newport Marathon finish, and bring me closer to my Olympic dreams.
    2. At the very least a 6:30 pace would bring me a 2:50:25 finish, and I would be happy with that or a finish equal or better to my Newport finish at the very least given that I have been injured and have just recently returned to training.

Today’s workout: Speed work!

track thursday 08-21

Yes, I came home and scribbled down the results of my workout to pin to my motivation board! I’ll need it for the tough times!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am so pumped and will be riding the wave of this endorphin-high all day!!!

I don’t think I have ever felt this good doing a track workout! The track is my personal running demon, it’s basically a monster that I face and attempt to slay once a week. Sometimes I feel like a conqueror and other times I just have to remind myself that this will only make me stronger. 

In high school I ran track, mainly the 800m, 1500m and the 3000m events. I excelled at the longer distances, mainly because I just picked a fast pace and then rocked out lap after lap while I was content to just be in my own head, similar to the way I pass my long runs today. But it got to the point where I became so obsessed with getting my 5k time under the 19 min. mark (not fast in the U.S., but definitely fast for Guam in the heat and humidity) that I would force myself to perform mile repeats under 6 min. and with the times decreasing each time, even in my off season. I burnt myself out badly. A couple of years ago, I was convinced that even looking at a track could make me physically sick! I pretty much vowed to never do what I hated, and it was one of the major reasons why I chose to run marathons….because who needs speed work, right?

Well, I’ve completely changed my tune 🙂 Last October, I ran the Portland Marathon in 3:11 with no speed work and minimal training. In fact, I stopped running for a large chunk of last year, from February (when I went to India, I ran twice there) to July, when my mom and I both signed up to do the Portland Marathon. I had been toying with the idea of getting a running coach since I first ran a 3:08 marathon, but last October’s performance solidified the thought in my brain, and I began seeking out a coach. Since then, my running’s gotten serious…and speed work has become nonnegotiable. I’ve definitely seen the results. 

I feel a lot more powerful and much stronger than I felt before. I gain mental confidence from really kicking-ass on the track. I push myself beyond my comfort zone once a week as I dig deeper to find out what I’m really made of as a runner. How tough am I, really? On the track, what doesn’t kill me makes me stronger. The runner who can withstand the most pain while slowing down the least will be the winner, and track teaches you where to go when the going gets tough. You get a mantra and you turn off the weak voice in your head that’s making all the excuses. 

I know that when it comes time to throw down in a race, I got it. 

Back to today, I was lucky enough to have one of my best running buddies join me on the oval and share half of the work. We took turns: one of us paced and the other held on for dear life, just kidding, we both felt great in the perfect, crisp 8am weather. She’s great, a graduated division III college runner, she and I are perfect running matches. 

This track workout today was, according to my coach, the best one I had done yet! I hope this means that I am back from my injury! After today, I feel like anything is possible, I am going to kick so much ass-phalt at the Portland Marathon!

Leave a Reply

