Portland Marathon 2013

portland marathon 2013 results

I was SO READY! This is in response to my own mental questioning about a week ago, I wasn’t sure that I was prepared enough for the marathon. And physically, I really wasn’t. But something happened to me mentally on the race weekend and I did so much better than I could have hoped for.

I guess I should say that first off, I really don’t like attending race expos to pick up my bib number and such. Instead of psyching me up as they are intended to do, I usually just get in, grab my number and shoe chip, and then weave my way out as fast as possible before I get sick to my stomach from the nerves. But at this expo the guest speaker happened to be Bill Rodgers!

In case you don’t know, Bill Rodgers just released a book, and is best known for winning the Boston Marathon and the New York Marathon 4 times each. Other less well known facts are that he has run 60 marathons in his life and won 22 of them. He made the U.S. Olympic marathon team in 1976 and again in 1980 (but unfortunately, that was the year the U.S. boycotted the Olympics). He was a member of the original greater Boston are track team and back in the 70’s helped to kick start the long distance running boom in the U.S. along with other greats like Alberto Salazar ad Amby Burfoot. He has since retired, but still runs marathons and other distances for fun.

Mom, Bill Rodgers, and me!!So my mom and I went to his lecture and then we hung around to meet him afterward, and what an experience!!! He actually listened to what we had to say, and seemed genuinely impressed with my marathon PR of 3:04…and interested in some of my wacky marathon stories. I bought his book, and he signed it for my mom and I. But I believe being so inspired by such a humble marathon legend helped me in my determination to race the next morning.

And so, when the race began, I flew. I took off fast, immediately running past the 3:30 and the 3:25 pacer, even though I definitely hadn’t trained to run that fast. As the race progressed, I just got faster and faster, passing the 3:20 race group and then the 3:15 pacer around mile 17. Then I HAD to catch the 3:10 group. But they resisted me, I pushed myself as hard as possible from mile 18 to 23, and caught up after a long downhill stretch. Then something happened, and I just faded. They continued to be within my site, but out of my grasp as I stumbled onward for the last 3 miles. I had pushed myself to the limit determined to catch the 3:10 group, even though my ambition at the start had just been to finish the race in one piece.

I crossed the finish in 3:11:41, and I haven’t been this proud of myself in a very long time. I loved that I felt driven and strong, and that unbelievably, my body was able to carry me all the way through the race. I have now posted three races in the low 3 hour mark: 3:04 (Portland Marathon 2011), 3:08 (Surf City Marathon 2011), and the most recent Portland Marathon. I know I have unbelievable potential to run under 3 hours, and I am now more determined than ever to make that happen!

susan running 6

5 thoughts on “Portland Marathon 2013

    • Thank you! I get very optimistic about my potential sometimes, and have vague dreams about the olympic trials for the 2016 or 2020 Olympics….if I could only shave off 30 minutes or so!

      Running isn’t my whole life, it’s only a part of what I do, so I don’t like to talk much about it….it’s more on the periphery of my life, that and with the exception of the last post, I don’t really toot my own horn đŸ™‚

      Anyway, I’m sure I’ve told you this before, but I appreciate how you comment on my posts! It really helps me feel connected to other blogs when people interact! I know you and your wife are in the process of adopting, and I hope it is going well….along with your own running adventures!

      Like

      • When I saw your time, I actually immediately thought about you going for the Olympic trials. I know it’s not easy to shave off 20 minutes from a marathon PR, but if running is currently “on the periphery of [your] life” it’s definitely not out of the question for you in the future!

        And you every every right to toot your own horn.

        Like

  1. I echo the comment above me with a resounding HOLY HELL you’re fast. I killed myself to run my PR of 3:23 back in February and can only dream of going below 3:15. Your times are truly impressive — well done.

    I think that goes a long way towards explaining the “Then something happened, and I just faded” situation — you were running a marathon in the low 7s. That’s crazy fast.

    Anyway, I ran Portland this year as well but finished far behind you in 3:48 (but that’s more due to having run a marathon on Saturday as well).

    Congratulations! I have a feeling that you’ll hit 2:59 soon.

    Like

    • Wow, thank you for the compliment! I like to imagine that I may have seen you in all the running chaos this past weekend…yay, the power of blogs to bring people together and connect them in the real world!

      Congratulations to you on your own marathon finish, and that is incredible that you ran two marathons back to back!

      Like

Leave a Reply

