Running as my MEDITATION.

So today was COLD! But I have been overdue for a run because I’ve been too busy with school and yoga the past several days. So I pushed myself out the door, and as always, I am so glad I did.

mapmyrun 01.12.13

FLOW:  is the mental state of operation in which a person performing an activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus, full involvement, and enjoyment in the process of the activity. In essence, flow is characterized by complete absorption in what one does (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flow_(psychology).

Undoubtedly, one thing I love about running is that I enter this state of flow. Thoughts float across my mental consciousness and I acknowledge them, then let them leave. I don’t listen to music when I run, I prefer to observe my environment and allow my observations and surroundings to keep new thoughts coming and old thoughts going. When I run, I breathe deep and evenly. I accept my body and it’s abilities to run only so fast or so far. I am more patient with myself, and aware of my body and the signals it sends me.

I don’t plan where I am going, if I want to turn right, then I do. But I don’t think about it until I get there. I am completely in the present moment. I don’t think about how far I need to go. When I come to a fork, I let my feet choose. They guide me where they know they are capable of going. Somewhere deep in my consciousness, I must have wanted to go that direction.

When I run, I solve problems I didn’t even know I had, I feel my stress leave my body. I’m no longer hypersensitive, over analytical, or completely self-conscious. I am as I am. I realize how powerful and full of worth and life I truly am. I am amazed, always, by my body’s ability to carry me so far even though I don’t always treat it so well. I realize that I love myself. I wouldn’t be the person that I am today without running.

Slide1

Slide2

 

One thought on “Running as my MEDITATION.

Leave a Reply

