Mac Forest 50K 2012

2012 Mac Forest 50K2012 MacDunn Forest 50k

The second time I did this race, and the only Ultra course/distance I have so far attempted (though my goal is to one day run a 100-miler).

This particular race, I was FLYING. Though it was 31 miles, at about the 20 mile mark, I was already feeling the finish line. I was in the zone! But then…..I stopped paying attention and WHAM! My toe caught a root and before I knew it I was flying downhill, face-first into the dirt trail.

I was too stunned to move for a minute, and then I sat up (embarrassed) and assessed the damage. Nothing felt broken, but my knee…..it was completely punctured. I pressed on it a little, and before blood began gushing out of it I swear I saw the white bone of my kneecap exposed.

Some nice people I had just ran by helped me hobble to the nearest aid station (about 2 miles ahead). We talked and I was grateful for the company. But I was upset, I was losing time! They bandaged me up at the aid station and flushed out my wound several times (ow). Then as soon as they were done with me, off I went. I was going to finish no matter what it took! About 10 miles later I crossed the finish line, in pain but feeling elated….high on endorphins and utterly euphoric.

This was a really meaningful race for me, I had never felt so motivated, so positive, or so full of perseverance as I had during that race. Yes, I fell…but I got up and I FINISHED that race, it didn’t finish me.  This is the real-world application of running. No matter what happens, pick yourself up and keep going. You can do anything if you want it bad enough!

Bring the pain!

One thought on “Mac Forest 50K 2012

Leave a Reply

